This tool allows you to delete the current layer. All geometry and database information for the layer is destroyed.
Note that you cannot reverse this operation using Edit - Undo, if you change your mind you must close the drawing without saving your changes, thereby losing any other modifications you have made.
You cannot delete the last layer in a drawing, as every drawing must contain at least one layer. In fact, if the drawing only contains a single layer then the tool will not be available.
If the current layer is inserted in another layer then you will be given a warning message:-
WARNING: The layer to be deleted is inserted in at least one other layer - are you sure you want to delete it?
If you answer Yes to this question, then for each layer that contains a layer insert of the current layer you will be given this message:-
WARNING: There are one or more insertions of this layer in layer 'Layer name'. Do you want to convert them to a block? (If you answer No, the insertions will be deleted from this layer.)
For each layer that you answer Yes, a new block will be created that is a copy of the current layer, and the layer inserts will be replaced with block inserts.
Related topics: File - New - Drawing Layer